Traveling Abroad

almost-french.jpgSO last night I cracked this one open.  So far so good,  as the book is serving its purpose so far which is to transport me to France ASAP.  Almost French subtitled A Love and Life in Paris  is a travel memoir by Sarah Turnbull. 

One night in Bucharest, a chance meeting with a charming Frenchman changes journalist Sarah Turnbull’s travel plans forever. Acting on impulse, she agrees to visit Frederic for a week in Paris, a city Sarah thinks she knows well. That is, until she falls in love.Put a very French Frenchman together with a strong-willed Australian woman and the result is some spectacular and often hilarious cultural clashes. Sarah’s clothes, her laugh, her conversation – even how much she drinks – set her apart. Language is a minefield of misunderstanding and the simple act of buying a baguette at the local boulangerie is fraught with social danger.   (Synopsis Courtesy of Femail)

Turnbull’s deadpan, honest, and humerous writing style has already drawn me in (after only 35 pages) and I can’t wait to get back home, complete all my daily chores, tuck in the kids, and travel back to France with her.  My favorite line from the book so far:   (on describing her visit to the French country to visit her French companion’s childhood friend, who is an avid hunter)

On several mornings I arrive in the kitchen for  croissants and coffee to find it transformed into a bloody battlefield strewn with bright red meat and purple animal organs.

This is just one of the many culture shocks the writer endures as she navigates her strange new home

I’ll keep you posted on this one.

2 Responses to “Traveling Abroad”

  1. Ohh, even though I have yet to travel to France, it sounds like this would be a fun read.

  2. I haven’t been to France either, and its not likely to happen soon. My hope was that this read sould serve as a temporary substitution until the real thing.

Leave a comment