Lost on Planet China – J. Maarten Troost


Lost on Planet China: The Strange and True Story of One Man's Attempt to Understand the World's Most Mystifying Nation, or How He Became Comfortable Eating Live SquidLost on Planet China: The Strange and True Story of One Man’s Attempt to Understand the World’s Most Mystifying Nation, or How He Became Comfortable Eating Live Squid by J. Maarten Troost

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book really enlightened me in ways I had not anticipated. I had no idea that China has the pollution issues that it does. I had no idea the pollution is so bad in Beijing you can’t really see the sun. I had no idea people in China spit all over the place. I had no idea China has something called mobile execution vans. Get my drift? It’s safe to say I have no future plans to visit. There were some positive things mentioned but they were few an far between. Troost tried to make this humorous, but instead its just kind of depressing. If China is the future, its anything but bright. That being said, I do now want to read Tom Scocca’s book about China called Beijing Welcomes You. Looks interesting and maybe it will teach me there is more to China than pollution and spitting…we’ll see.

http://www.gq.com/entertainment/books/20…

All this being said, please do not miss Mr. Troost’s other books, they are hilarious and I love that I have found yet another writer who cracks me up!!!

3 Responses to “Lost on Planet China – J. Maarten Troost”

  1. Oh, yay, an author that makes you crack up is someone I have to look into!

  2. I think we all probably need to know a lot more about China–the good and the bad!

Leave a Reply

