This is Where I Leave You – Jonathan Tropper

The death of Judd Foxman’s father marks the first time that the entire Foxman family-including Judd’s mother, brothers, and sister-have been together in years. Conspicuously absent: Judd’s wife, Jen, whose fourteen-month affair with Judd’s radio-shock-jock boss has recently become painfully public.  Via Goodreads.

This is where I leave you is by far the funniest, raunchiest, seriously smart book I have read in a while and possibly ever?  Judd Foxman is currently in a tailspin after walking in on his wife having explicit relations with his boss.  Reading how this scene plays out in the book made me laugh so hard my kids came running out of their rooms to see what I was laughing about.  Of course, I couldn’t tell them the details.  “It’s adult,” I said, sending them back to their rooms with annoyed looks on their faces.

A few weeks later, Judd has to return home when his father dies after a long battle with cancer.  His family of non-devouts Jew’s, are forced to sit shiva to honor their father’s last wish.  Non-senimental at best, Judd’s family has mastered the art of dysfunction and wisecracking.  Everyone in the Foxman family has their own unique personality including his younger brother Phillip, the “Paul McCartney of our family: better-looking than the rest of us, always facing a different direction in pictures, and occasionally rumored to be dead.”

Jonathan Tropper is wickedly funny and heartwarming at the same time.  I thoroughly enjoyed meeting the Foxman family, and was sad to see them go when the Shiva ended.  I’m thrilled to have found a new writer to love, and I’m glad to see he has many more books published for me to delight in. HIGHLY recommended!!!!!!!

6 Responses to “This is Where I Leave You – Jonathan Tropper”

  1. Jonathan Tropper is one of my favorite authors! I’ve read all of his books and they’re all wonderful! I even used the word Tropper as my computer login once, I love him so much! Try How to Talk to a Widower next. So good!

  2. Thanks for stopping by Carrie, I am so stoked to read more of his books. The one you mentioned is next on my list!

  3. I have never heard of this author before and apparently I should have! I will have to look into him. 🙂

  4. He’s a little out of the box, kind of R rated, but really funny Kailana, you can’t help but love him.

  5. Sounds like a great book. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

