Triple Play – Sedaris, Lippman, and Bennett

I’ve been reading so much and so fast it’s hard to keep up with the blogging.  Today I’m just gonna do a quick and dirty triple play on three books that I have read recently, starting with Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk:  A Modest Bestiary by David Sedaris.

Biased.  That’s what I am when it comes to David Sedaris.  I love, Love, LURVE him.  In his latest book he takes a shot at Aesop’s Fables, Sedaris style.  I read this quickly, mostly while taking a long bath.  I enjoyed it, it was clever but not as laugh out loud funny as I’d expected.  I can’t help thinking that I only liked it because I am such a Sedaris fan girl, otherwise I may have chunked it.

Next up, I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman.  I have read a couple of books by Lippman, and this was far and away my favorite.  It’s about a woman who was abducted for the entire Summer when she was 15 years old.  Now 38, she gets a letter from her abductor who has been living on death row and is about to be executed.   Now, she must decide whether or not to communicate with her abductor.  The novel is interesting because it really is a psychological study into how individuals react in dangerous situations.  This book reminded me of something that happened in my hometown many years ago.  A police officer went on a rampage, pulled over and raped 2 women, and then went into a local bank and shot one teller in the head and held the rest  hostage.  One of them was a girlfriend of a guy I knew, a friend of mine.  They always struck me as a funny pair, he was so charismatic and funny, and she was so quiet, never said a word.  After it was over, and stories from the bank emerged, it turns out she had survived by literally chatting up the officer.  She talked to him, said she had a cousin on the force, offered to get him a soda.  She was the first one released as a hostage.  Weird, but that story kept coming to mind as I was reading this book.  Interesting read.

And finally we come to An Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett.  The queen has a new hobby and it’s reading!  Unfortunatly, hobbies are rather frowned upon for queens.  I would review this myself, but feel it could only be done properly with a Brittish accent so I leave it in the good hands of Completely Novel’s video blog:  Carry on!

Hope you enjoyed my triple play.  Soon to come are my thoughts on The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Versailles by Kathryn Davis, and Little Bee by Chris Cleave.

One Response to “Triple Play – Sedaris, Lippman, and Bennett”

  1. I love Sedaris too and I think this one is really for hard-core fans and those with a twisted sense of humor. That includes me, LOL! I adored it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

