The one good thing about being gone for so long…

My reading and my blog were on hiatus for a while.  My reading was sluggish, and my blogging was sparse at best.  I went through a lot of life changes in the last 2 years, and I just couldn’t find a way to lose myself in books the way I always had.  I took up some other hobbies that were occupying my free time such as;  starting a vintage store on Etsy , Facebook, browsing design blogs online and having major house envy, and perhaps my favorite – rediscovering the art of napping. 

Recently, I moved to another part of town which led to a new library system which has thankfully seemed to reignite my reading and my blogging.  Also – I have started using the commuter train, which frees up more time for reading…and napping.  Ah, my two loves.

I think one of my favorite parts about being away for a while is that now I have such a HUGE amount of wonderful books to read.  In the last few weeks I have read: The Help, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, Garden Spells, Recently I’ve taken up Smoking, The Lotus Eaters (FANFREAKINGTASTIC!), Stiltsville, Will Store vs. The Supernatural, The Graveyard Book, Edgar Sawtelle, and am currently reading Juliet by Anne Fortier which I can’t put down!  They were all really great especially The Lotus Eaters, which I have yet to blog about.  Even with all that great reading, my catch up list is still mile long and growing.

Another fun thing is checking in on old book blogging friends, and seeing all of the new ones that either cropped up in the last 2 years, or that I had never visited before such as:

http://bermudaonion.wordpress.com/

http://shereadsandreads.blogspot.com/

http://www.ragingbibliomania.net/

and a bunch more that I will be adding to my blogroll soon.

On the other side of the coin, I guess my least favorite part of a near 2 year blogging lapse is that nobody reads this blog anymore.  It’s like bad blogger karma.  Drats.

3 Responses to “The one good thing about being gone for so long…”

  1. I’m still reading (and am glad to see you back to book blogging)!

  2. Yay! Thanks for stopping by Stephanie. Glad to see you are doing well!

  3. I haven’t been reading or blogging much either, but you’re still in my feedreader, which I check from time to time. Glad to see you’re posting again.

Leave a Reply

