Dear Stiltsville, I’m afraid I may owe you an apology.

Last Friday I  posted my somewhat harsh thoughts about the book Stiltsville by Susanna Daniel.  I was in the exact middle of the book, and I was frustrated by what I thought was a lack of emotion and soul by the main character and narrator Frances Ellerby.  I considered chunking it, but to be honest, it was the only book I had on me and so I kept reading.  The more I read, the more the story evolved, and I actually was moved to tears at the end of the book.

I will stand by my earlier comments about the way it was written in “memoir style,”  it made me feel disconnected from Frances, and it made her seem too contemplative and a little dull.  I also don’t understand why Frances always seemed a little unhappy and disconcerted.  That being said, after reading Stiltsville I couldn’t help thinking what a quiet beauty it seemed to carry, especially near the end.

So, there ya go Stiltsville, I hope we can still be friends.

Leave a Reply

