A Thanksgiving Read

mayflower_book2

From Publishers Weekly
Starred Review. In this remarkable effort, National Book Award–winner Philbrick(In the Heart of the Sea) examines the history of Plymouth Colony. In the early 17th century, a small group of devout English Christians fled their villages to escape persecution, going first to Holland, then making the now infamous 10-week voyage to the New World. Rather than arriving in the summer months as planned, they landed in November, low on supplies. Luckily, they were met by the Wampanoag Indians and their wizened chief, Massasoit. In economical, well-paced prose, Philbrickmasterfully recounts the desperate circumstances of both the settlers and their would-be hosts, and how the Wampanoags saved the colony from certain destruction. Indeed, there was a first Thanksgiving, the author notes, and for over 50 years the Wampanoags and the Pilgrims lived in peace, becoming increasingly interdependent. But in 1675, 56 years after the colonists’ landing, Massasoit’s heir, Philip, launched a confusing war on the English that, over 14 horrifying months, claimed 5,000 lives, a huge percentage of the colonies’ population. Impeccably researched and expertly rendered, Philbrick’saccount brings the Plymouth Colony and its leaders, including William Bradford, Benjamin Church and the bellicose, dwarfish Miles Standish, vividly to life. More importantly, he brings into focus a gruesome period in early American history. For Philbrick, this is yet another award-worthy story of survival. (May 9)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

I’m only halfway done with this book, and I have to say its truly fascinating stuff.  I don’t usually blog about a book until I’ve read the entire thing, but I felt the need to post something after my long absence and bid all of you a Happy Thanksgiving.  This book is a perfect compliment to a family holiday weekend and I would recommend it to all.

That being said, my reading has been sparse or none at all.  My husband and I have separated and I feel a bit like I am on the Mayflower myself, riding rough seas with no real idea of where I’m going or where I’ll end up.  But I also share their feelings of excitement and the anticipation of living independently and starting over in a new world.  I wish all of you a very Happy Thanksgiving and holiday weekend. 

7 Responses to “A Thanksgiving Read”

  1. Glad to see that you are back. I hope you are doing well!

  2. Hi Bookie – You’ve been missed so I hope we see more of you in blogland. Take care and sending you some good wishes.

  3. Hey!!! So good to have you back. You have been missed. Hang in there. I know it’s tough. You are a strong and smart and have a beautiful soul. Remember that you are loved!!!
    If you come home for the holidays give me a call.

  4. Bookie!
    I hope your rough seas are less so this week. I wish you the very best of luck in the new year, and just wanted to let you know I’m thinking of you.

  5. I read Mayflower a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. His other book, In the Heart of the Sea, is great too.

    I’m glad to see you back but sorry to hear about the separation. I hope you have a good holiday regardless and that 2009 brings you more good things and less of the crap life sometimes throws at us. *hugs*

  6. Oh, and have you seen Twilight yet?

  7. Hey thanks for everyone’s kind words, Bookie will survive.

    Yes! I have seen Twilight and I thought it was very good, pretty intense, just look the books.

Leave a Reply

