Favorite Author’s Meme

1. Who’s your all-time favorite author, and why?

I think I would have to say Jeanette Winterson, even though a few of her more recent works have been a bit too abstract for my liking, her earlier novels such as The Passion, Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit, Sexing The Cherry, and particularly Written On The Body, are all in my top ten favorite books of all time and they reinforced a life long love of literature in a way that will never be undone. The purity and passion in her words produce the most beautiful and effective prose of anyone I have ever read. WInterson is like Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Haruki Murakami meets Toni Morrison and Neil Gaiman.

Bibliography

  • Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (1985)
  • Boating for Beginners (1985)
  • Fit For The Future: The Guide for Women Who Want to Live Well (1986)
  • The Passion (1987)
  • Sexing the Cherry (1989)
  • Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit: the script (1990)
  • Written on the Body (1992)
  • Art & Lies: A Piece for Three Voices and a Bawd (1994)
  • Great Moments in Aviation: the script (1995)
  • Art Objects (1995)
  • Gut Symmetries (1997)
  • The World and Other Places (1998)
  • The Powerbook (2000)
  • The King of Capri (2003)
  • Lighthousekeeping (2004)
  • Weight (2005)
  • Tanglewreck (2006)
  • The Stone Gods (2007)

“They say that every snowflake is different. If that were true, how could the world go on? How could we ever get up off our knees? How could we ever recover from the wonder of it?”

When I say “I will be true to you” I must mean it in spite of the formalities, instead of the formalities. If I commit adultery in my heart then I have lost you a little. The bright vision of your face will blur. I may not notice this once or twice, I may pride myself on having enjoyed those fleshy excursions in the most cerebral way. Yet I wil have blunted that sharp flint that sparks between us, our desire for another above all else. (p. 79). Written on the Body.

The Buddhists say there are 149 ways to God. I’m not looking for God, only for myself, and that is far more complicated. God has had a great deal written about Him; nothing has been written about me. God is bigger, like my mother, easier to find, even in the dark. I could be anywhere, and since I can’t describe myself I can’t ask for help. (p. 115) Sexing the Cherry.

“Book collecting is an obsession, an occupation, a disease, an addiction, a fascination, an absurdity, a fate. It is not a hobby. Those who do it must do it. Those who do not do it, think of it as a cousin of stamp collecting, a sister of the trophy cabinet, bastard of a sound bank account and a weak mind.”

I have to be honest and say she lost me with Art and Lies and Gut Symmetries which just went WAY over my head, but I have heard wonderful things about Tanglewreck and most recently The Stone Gods and I am looking forward to rediscovering her work.

2. Who was your first favorite author, and why? Do you still consider him or her among your favorites?

My favorite first author was Judy Blume. She’s a true genius of young adult fiction. Blume answered every question that needed answering and spared me many an awkward conversation with my mom.  She also gave me a little preview into the complexities of adolescent social behaviors and I think because I read her books I was more prepared than others for the war zone that was adolescent society.

3. Who’s the most recent addition to your list of favorite authors, and why?

Well, I just recently discovered Neil Gaiman and even though I have never been a big fan of sci-fi, I have been pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoy his stories. Also, I love David Sedaris and I wanna be his best friend.

4. If someone asked you who your favorite authors were right now, which authors would first pop out of your mouth? Are there any you’d add on a moment of further reflection?

Umm…Haruki Murakami, Geraldine Brooks, Gaiman, Sedaris, John Green, Marcus Zuzak, Emily Giffin, and MORE!

5. Tagged:

Everyone. GO!

More stuff from Jeannette Winterson

2 Responses to “Favorite Author’s Meme”

  1. Although i loved Written on the Body (this book being the reason of me starting to read more Winterson), I enjoyed her later books, the more abstract ones.
    Anyway, she is a wonderful writer and (as seen in the video) a very charming and energic woman.

Leave a Reply

