I Need A Quickie!

I can’t decide what I want to read next, but I think I may be leaning towards some chick lit.  It’s Spring and I’m really sick of being all depressing and boring.  I think I might need some shameless flirting, and casual sex to cheer me up.  The book I’m eyeing is Savannah Blues by Mary Kay Andrews.  She’s really quite funny and I’m a sucker for her Southern accent.  Yea….I think today night be a “order pizza and read chick lit on the sofa all day” kind of Saturday.  Screw the laundry, I think laundry is kind of like Gremlins, it just grows, multiplies and becomes more dreadful looking every time it touches water.

12 Responses to “I Need A Quickie!”

  1. Maybe some Murakami short stories?

  2. That might be the perfect description of laundry ever! Happy reading!

  3. I just read a book called Forget About It, by Caprice Crane. It wasn’t bad, but I’d highly recommend her first novel, Stupid and Contagious, which was the kind of good writers can envy. Both chick lit.

    I’ll in addition steal a shameless, self-promotive moment to mention my own collection on Lulu. It’s short (barely 160 pages), and it’s all short fiction and essays, ranging from several romance pieces to a detailed account of September 11th. Plus, it’s free.

    And dammit, I want a pizza now. That’s a fine idea.

  4. I second that recommendation for “stupid and Contagious” by Caprice Crane. Great book – I think it is just what you are looking for. Hope you had a great weekend.

  5. Have a good weekend. Not a chick-lit follower, so I don’t have any recommendations, sorry. I like the idea of stupid and conagious, though, even if it is a Nirvana lyric ripoff.

  6. well its about time you get back to blogging!

  7. Matthew – hmm…Murakami sounds good too.

    TY Stephanie, doesn’t laundry totally suck?

    Will – thanks for stopping by, I’ll have to check those books out, they sound great!

    Carey – Thanks, it was a pretty decent weekend.

    LK – Nirvana fan? You’re so cool.

    Andy – hey lil bro.

  8. I’d highly recommend the Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis as a great read. The author’s imagination and creativity never cease to amaze me. Although most might think that they are for children.,I think most adults would also enjoy reading them. In fact, Disney is coming up with the latest Narnia movie-Prince Caspian, this May 16th. It promises to be awesome by the looks of the trailor. I think its very well-timed also, especially for the kids who’d be on summer break. So dont miss it!

  9. I’ve never been a chick-lit kinda gal, but having read a couple of such review books recently, I have to admit, some of it is fun.

  10. Well, I’m not much for chicklit either, so I can’t give you any recommendations there. You already read Literacy and Longing in LA, right? I did like that one bunches.

  11. Jeannine Says:

    Hey. I dont know your situation but I hope things are getting better. If you have any advice please send it this way!!!
    I was looking for something mindless to get lost in but My bookstore didnt have Savannah Blues so I bought Good In Bed by Jennifer Weiner. I am only into chapter two but it is pretty cute so far. I have laughed outloud a few times so I think its going to be a good book. My boss is on vacation for two days so I can read at my desk!!!!! I also need a good book to take to Nicks next month (yippee!!!) so any suggestions will be appreciated. Hey, you can come with me. A girls vacation would do us all some good!

  12. I just finished The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I think ita a YA book but it was pretty good and a quick read. The recently read THe Tenth Gift and loved it.

Leave a Reply

