Just some quick thoughts about what I’m reading as I have my morning coffee and toast. I love Sunday mornings.

image

I am currently reading After Dark by Haruki Murakami, its very good so far, I think it’s pure genius to start out a novel in a Denny’s in Japan at 1:00 AM.  Try screwing that up.

Also, because I think Eat, Pray, Love has changed my life (very Oprah-ish blog post forth coming), I am reading a book Elizabeth Gilbert suggested to start out with when you want to learn to meditate and bring God into your life.  It’s called A Path With Heart by Jack Kornfield.  So far its pretty dull, but I’m hoping to get some useful information once I get into the meditation guides section.

In other news, Molokai, Tomorrow They Will Kiss, and The Cliff House Strangler, are so overdue I think the library has put out a bounty on my head.  Seriously, I’m scared to open my door for fear I’ll see a libraranazi on the other side with a tazer and kitchen shears to cut up my library card. 

On Wednesday I purchased The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields in a little used book store near my house.  I’m very excited about it!  It’s a lovely trade paperback in good condition.  One thing I must say though is that all the ladies that work in the book store seem very grumpy.  Terse, cracked, pinched, not a laugh line in sight.  They seem to hate children too, which probably does nothing for sales in their children’s book section.  Oddly enough, they keep a bowl of hard candy near the register in reach of children and when my son grabs one, as he always does, he never fails to receive a stern look from whom ever is behind the counter accompanied by an  “only if mommy says its OK” or “Have we had our lunch yet???”  It’s fine,  I grouse and grab two just to piss them off.  Lord ladies lighten up, time to dust off your copy of Lady Chatterly’s Lover…sheesh.

Anyway’s, I hope you all enjoy your Sunday doing hopefully lots of reading!  Ciao.

5 Responses to “Just some quick thoughts about what I’m reading as I have my morning coffee and toast. I love Sunday mornings.”

  1. Did you finish Moloka’i and if so, how did you like it?

  2. literaryfeline Says:

    I really must get around to reading Eat, Pray, Love. So many people have said it was life-altering.

  3. Ooh, the Stone Diaries. I can’t wait to hear what you think of it. I [heart] Carol Shields.

  4. Steph – Not yet, hope to start today.

    Literaryfeline – I just loved it, I really related to her story and found it very hopeful and uplifting.

    Nonanon – I’m so excited to read it, and I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Carol Shields, I sense a “new couple” alert coming on … – LOL.

  5. Hah! Yeah, I’ve noticed the same thing going in there, the only people they seem to be really friendly with are people they know.

    I don’t think you’ll have any librarians coming after you, at least until you max out on fines. That’s how they get some of their funding after all, through the kindness of negligent patrons like you! 😉

Leave a Reply

