Bookie’s Favorite Things

Well, if Oprah can do it, why the hell can’t I? What’s she got that I don’t aside from a ka-thrillion dollars, Julia Robert’s home phone number, and property in each continent. So here goes, the first annual installment of BOOKIE’S FAVORITE THINGS (please scream your loudest most womanly exuberant scream).

1. The Great poets coffee mug : Featuring Edgar Allan Poe, Sylvia Plath, William Shakespeare, Emily Dickinson, Walt Whitman, Elizabeth Barrett Browning. $9.99

coffeemugs_gwriters.jpg

Isn’t it great? That way you can wake up and have your coffee already feeling very smart.

Also I totally adore this Jane Austin umbrella. Woot! $21.95.

austen_umb_web.jpg

Those are available, along with others, at Literary Luminaries.com.

2. They Came to Paris Lost Generation – Paris Literary Tour

logo.jpg

Book me on a Literary Tour. ASAP. Literary Tours.com has a variety of different trips to all parts of the world with iteniraries designed to explore the literary angle. I chose the Paris Literary tour. From the site – Never has there been such a mass exodus of American intellectuals as there was during the years following the end of the First World War. Virtually every man and woman of importance in the American arts crossed the ocean and settled – for a short time, at least in what was then the artistic capital of the world. Explore the writers and artists who made the Twenties the century’s greatest decade and Paris their creative centre and why Gertrude Stein dubbed the ex-pat writers “The Lost Generation.” This trip is built around the creative works of the ex-pat writers, artists and musicians who made Paris their home in the Twenties.

3. The Booklovers Cookbook I love cookbooks, and I love book books, so, combine the two and you get this. Featuring things like the recipe for Bridget Jones’s Shepherd Pie, and some chocolate recipes from Like Water For Chocolate. Yuuummmm.

blcook.jpg

4. The Perfect Book Blanket –

The Ralph Lauren Polo Cashmere Cable Throw. I know, its horribly expensive, but I can tell you from personal experience, this blanket is like snuggling up with the clouds of heaven. All you need is a good book, and goodbye planet Earth, hello planet bliss. I stake my claim to it every time I go to my in-laws and now its known as “my blanket.” I know it’s steep, but if you can afford it, go for it, life is short.

polo-blan.jpg

Price: $595.00

Exquisite throw blanket woven from the finest cashmere in our signature cabling.

  • Inspired by the favorite, familiar texture of a cable-knit sweater.

5. The Deep Water bath Plug

061127bathplug.jpg

Now, the only thing that keeps me from reading in the bath-tub all day is that perky little drain hole at the top of the lever. The “safety” drain is designed to keep the water level in the tub from getting too high, thus robbing you of your best bathing experience. For only $4.95, this gadget will suction itself around the drain hole and allow you to fill your tub to your desired level. WooHoo!

Also, for your reading bath pleasure you will need this –

image

6. The Jumbo Bath time Caddy for $51.95. The only thing it needs is a place to put your wine glass.

Now – stay tuned for Bookie’s Favorite things – the book list.

8 Responses to “Bookie’s Favorite Things”

  1. You are too funny. I loved your opening. 🙂 I look forward to seeing your book list.

  2. One umbrella, one cashmere blanket and oh, what the heck, one of those bath reading things too please, Santa!

  3. Oh, I have GOT to get that bath plug!! What a great idea! Who decided those plugs should go halfway down the wall of the bath anyway? Losers!!

  4. Great list! I want to take one of those trips….

  5. I’d love that cashmere throw… but the cats would just appropriate it like they did the cashmere shawl my MIL got for me!

  6. […] Bookie??s Favorite Things […]

  7. Happy New Year! I love the bathe&read products; and THEN curl up in that blanket! sounds like a lovely idea..

  8. Hello,
    For your next list you should check out The Literary Gift Company http://www.theliterarygiftcompany.com for ideas.
    Thanks
    Dani

Leave a Reply

