I actually completed a challenge – watch out for falling pigs.

Well – I did it. I completed Carl’s RIP challenge – its a minor miracle but in a way I always knew I would do it – I love the spooky genre. In addition to Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer, here are the other books I read for the challenge:

41HQMTVXCQL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-dp-500-arrow,TopRight,45,-64_OU01_AA240_SH20_51JGHG0GAZL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-dp-500-arrow,TopRight,45,-64_OU01_AA240_SH20_

51GJ6-6fm9L._AA240_

395362e89da09f0fcdb45110._AA240_.L

sh

So here is my list and comments:

The Haunting of Hill House – Shirley Jackson – Very good, more psychological than “boo” type scary.

Shirley Jackson wrote The Lottery which was one of the freakiest stories I ever had as required reading in school. Check it out.

Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman – I don’t typically like fantasy/science fiction stuff, but this book was very good, an enjoyable read.

The House Next Door – Anne Rivers Siddon – Modern Gothic novel.  The house is evil, the house is evil!!!!!!!!
In the Woods – Jana French – First novel, a murder/suspense. Very good actually, well written, nice depth excellent character construction. Didn’t end well though.

Various Haunts of Old Men – Susan Hill – I thought this was just lukewarm, sorry.

5 Responses to “I actually completed a challenge – watch out for falling pigs.”

  1. Well, you were way ahead of me! I only managed to read two books for this challenge, so it’s been ages since I’ve been able to successfully complete a challenge. I think this means I should stop signing up for them.

    I’ve seen In the Woods in the stores because of the cool cover, but I’ll probably pass on reading it myself. I really enjoyed Neverwhere though – it’s my favorite Gaiman book – so glad to hear you liked it.

    Got your email btw, expect a reply hopefully soon!

  2. Great – I am looking forward to hearing from you.

  3. congrats on finishing the challenge!

  4. Oh, I do like Shirley Jackson.

    Congrats on finishing the challenge.

  5. zeofndpk vowfurczn zwplohj lgufjcdt qzeajt jogspca eqdlvftaz

Leave a Reply

