RIP Challenge II

Technorati Tags: ,

rip2large

As you all probably already know.  I hate challenges, book challenges.  They inspire me to well – not read.  BUT – almost a year ago, I started this book blog and at the time EVERYBODY who was ANYBODY in the book blogging word was participating in Carl V. first annual RIP challenge.  I missed the boat last year but vowed to join the challenge this year.  I am a fan of all things creepy so this challenge is right up my alley, and believe it or not – I may actually finish it!

Here are the details straight from Carl’s site.

As in last year’s inaugural R.I.P. Autumn Reading Challenge, R.I.P. II is a September 1st through October 31st celebration of all tales gothic, eerie, creepy, and dark. Tales that one reads in the dark of night, experiencing delicious shivers of terror and suspense at each creak of the floorboards or each gust of wind. As in previous challenges the definition for what type of books fit into this category will be very broad. I would venture to say that there is something for everyone that could count as a R.I.P. book.”

There are 4 different perils you can choose from, I am going with the First

Peril the First:

Read Four books of any length, from any subgenre of scary stories that you choose.

For the rest of the perils and any more info on the challenge, go to Carl’s site –

Stainless Steel Droppings.

The four books I chose are:

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer – Completed – thank you very much – for my review go here.

The Haunting of Hill House – Shirley Jackson – will finish today.

Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman – Halfway through

and the fourth one will be one of these I have currently checked out:

In the Woods – Tana French

The House Next Door – Anne Rivers Siddon

The various Haunts of Men – Susan Hill

 

I’m also gonna go looking for a really creepy true crime book – there is nothing scarier than true crime people.  Nothing.

5 Responses to “RIP Challenge II”

  1. Good luck with the challenge!

    I admit, challenges are far more likely to cause me to NOT read than to read, too. So far I’ve managed to avoid them.

  2. I am into spooky books right now. I finished The Heart Shpaed box and A Good and Happy Child. Both had some scary parts that make you not want to read it alone at night.

  3. I love this challenge!! An you are right. Everyone who is anyone in the blogging world seems to be involved!! I actually tripped over here from Carl’s site! I’ve already read 4 books, and I’m working my way through Fragile Things by Gaiman for Short Story Sundays!

  4. Go for it! I love this challenge, too. It’s just about the only Challenge I actually finish.

  5. What challege are you guys talking about? 🙂

    I feel stupid for not knowing…. 😦

Leave a Reply

