I may have to atone…

Atonement trailer

Holy Crap, I never thought I’d say this but I think I may want to try to read Atonement again. It is well documented as one of my least favorite books. That being said, I chunked it after a few chapters, so I really didn’t READ it. The thing is…this trailer looks really good, and now I think I understand where the story was going which at the time I had no clue and thats why I threw it against the wall and then picked it up, dusted it off, and prompty returned it to B&N for a full refund.  I was so pissed because I never EVER spend money on hardcovers.  This was an exception, and it failed me.  Or…maybe I failed it?? 

Now I see this wonderful trailer, and that the movie is directed by the same director of Pride and Predjudice(2005) which is probably my favorite film adaption ever.  I loved P&P.  I thought the cinematography was beautiful, the music divine, Kiera Knightly spot on as Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy well – sigh.

So, how bout this.  I’ll see the movie and if its as good as it looks, I’ll read the God damned book again. 

9 Responses to “I may have to atone…”

  1. Okay, that trailer does look really good. I liked the book, but I am starting to wonder if that movie doesn’t look better than the movie… it’s been a while since I read it.

  2. Hey Kailana! I apologize, I’m still in the middle of editing the post. yes, the movie looks very good!

  3. I wasn’t a fan of Atonement either but I really want to see the movie! Isn’t that crazy. I hope the movie doesn’t disappoint.

  4. Me too. Can’t get a refund for a sucky movie.

  5. Haha! Well, I’m one of those who loved it (read it last year) but hadn’t seen the film preview before now. It looks great! Admittedly, I’m not a big fan of KK (she’s one of the reasons I haven’t seen the new P&P but since you liked it so much Bookie, I might have to rethink that), but I still can’t wait to see it.

  6. Oh, I did want to say that the little girl who plays Briony is not how I pictured her.

  7. I loved the book (like Lesley)! And, like Lesley, I didn’t picture Briony at all like that little girl. I also didn’t imagine Cecilia at all like Keira Knightley. I doubt I’ll go see this one-I was not a fan of his P&P adaptation.

    The one thing I’ll say is that if the movie keeps the same ending as the book, it would make the reading of the book *much* less powerful. Just something to keep in mind if you’re thinking about a reread.

  8. I was surprised to hear that the 2005 Pride and Prejudice is your favourite movie adaptation. Although I am very fond of it, the last scene at Pemberley is usually what turns off Austenites ( i.e. the cementing of the marriage ritual with the symbolic “kiss” and then Lizzie being labelled ” Mrs. Darcy ” over and over again.

    Although I quite enjoyed the rest of the film…. I wondered what you thought of this scene.

    It certainly remains problematic to a lot of people .

    I like the writing in Atonement but it is not my favourite Ian McEwan.

  9. Eva – Good to know. I guess, it be smarter to reread it first. But – I really don’t think I will.

    MP- I loved P&P. I watch it all the time. I love it love it love it!!! As far as the last scene. It was my LEAST favorite scene of the movie. WAY to sappy and just wrong. So, I agree with you and all of the Austenites – what a fun thing to be labeled.

Leave a Reply

