A Non-Fiction Holla!

Holla!

I usually read literary fiction with an occasional skanky foray into chick lit and true crime here and there. I’d say I read a few non-fiction books a year, or maybe more, depending on what captures my attention. Do memoirs count? Oh, nevermind…don’t answer that.

Well, lately I have become a regular over at Nonanon’s blog (Non-Fiction readers Anonymous) because, well, she’s funny ( the funny always wins with me people, always!) and she has the best recommendations for non-fiction books. So much so that I’ve been making a list of all the non-fiction books that I want to read. So here it comes, DRUMROLL………..It’s my Non-Fiction TBR list! 

Shut up you know you want it. 

water-tower.jpg

The first book that really caught my eye at Nonanon’s was this beautiful photography book she posted about called –  Where We Live – Photographs of America from the Berman Collection. “…the photographers toward whom Berman has gravitated are passionate about America, not sentimental. Their feeling for their subject matter springs from an intense, frequently personal relationships with it, tempered by the self-restraint with which they treat it…What may sometimes seem to be a passive attitude on the photographer’s part is in truth an impassivity that comes from being pained by what one loves.” (p. 23.)

That quote from the introduction just nails it because when I look at this photo of the watertower and a gas station by George Tice, I see home. I see the ordinary industrial town I grew up in, and I don’t just see it but I feel it. I feel the hot moist air of a late summer night in Louisiana. I hear the dull buzz of the fluorescent light in the gas station. The water tower just looming in the background looking amazingly like part of the natural landscape. I’ve been to this place. I know it. Intimately. One look at this photo creates that comfortable familiarity, that feeling of for better or for worse, this is home and I am connected to it, its a part of me and I’m a part of it. It’s a sublime sort of peacefulness. I’d love to own that photo, but for now, the book will do.

The next three books on my list all appealed to my “just because I’m a 33 year old mom doesn’t mean I have lost the fun gene so please don’t treat me as such” part of my ego. They include:

3 Martini Playdate: A Practical Guide To happy parenting. – I despise the word Playdate, it’s one of those new mommy terms that I just hate. However, put the words 3 and martini in front of it and it becomes a whole other thing entirely.

I hate other people kids. This is horrible but I think I do. At least this book will make me feel less guilty about it, and I’ll know I’m not alone. I mean, I try extra hard with family and friends but with Joe Schmoo’s kids down the street…Grrr! I’m a bad person. I acknowledge that. Leave me alone.

and now my personal fav.

In Defense of Naps, Bacon, Martinis, Profanity, and Other Indulgences

Endangered Pleasures: In Defense of Naps, Bacon, Martinis, Profanity, and Other Indulgences by Barbara Holland. Bab’s, your my kind of chica. Lets get together. Shangra-La.

Another one I really want to read is

rats

Rats: Observations on the History and Habitat of the City’s Most Unwanted Inhabitants by Robert Sullivan.  I can’t really explain why this landed on my TBR list because I hate rats. I have had all to many up close and personal encounters with them, I detest them, and I have no problems ending their repulsive little lives.  But, if Nonanon says the Rat book is a must read, then Rats it is.

and just a few more:

Boy – by Roald Dahl

The Yellow Lighted Bookshop by Lewis Buzbee –  Very mixed reviews, but I really wanna read it.

Now this one I didn’t get from Nonanon’s site but I added it at the urging of the rabid HST fans that felt I needed to be more learned on the subject.  What can I say, they are right.

The Proud Highway: Saga of a Desperate Southern Gentleman, 1955-1967 (Paperback)
by Hunter S. Thompson (Author), Douglas Brinkley (Author) “Young people of America, awake from your slumber of indolence and harken the call of the future!…” (more)

and last but not least

The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game (Hardcover)
by Michael Lewis (Author) – With football season starting I am itching to read this book.

4 Responses to “A Non-Fiction Holla!”

  1. Ha! I’m with ya on other people’s kids. I’ve only met two I ever really liked.

  2. Quite the list! I skimmed through that other people’s kids book and related to quite a bit of what I saw. I’m just not that much of a kid person.

    And I’m lovin’ the sounds of that Endangered Pleasures book!

  3. Is that not the BEST photograph? It just takes my breath away. Can’t wait to hear what you say about the whole book. And I so hope you like Robert Sullivan’s “Rats,” but I’ll understand if you don’t (if it’s too gross, I would try his “How Not to Get Rich” book instead–it’s hilarious!). Also, “The Blind Side.” GREAT book. My brother loved it and he hardly ever reads!

    Thanks for the nonfiction holla–nonfiction just doesn’t get enough hollas!!

  4. Great list! I love Nonanon too. Always interesting stuff at that site.

Leave a Reply

