I Need Advice

I have 2 books that have been sitting forever on my nightstand.  I really need to return them to the school library since the school year is ending but I still sort of want to read them.  SO, I need some help.  If you have read either of these and would like to try to convince me either way I would appreciate it.  Here they are.

Plum Wine -Yay or Nay?

The Thin Place – Yay or Nay?

Thanks.

9 Responses to “I Need Advice”

  1. Never read any of ’em, but I like the title with wine in it.

  2. I’ve heard GREAT things about The Thin Place, and it’s on my TBR list, but I haven’t read it yet. That’s the one I’d go for…..let me know if you read it and like it.

  3. I’d say ‘nay’ for Plum Wine. It was ok but flawed I thought. Here’s what I had to say about it.

  4. LK – Love your reasoning.

    Lisa – I have heard great things about the Thin Place as well, in fact I went ahead and started it last night. But only got a few pages in before I was called away on motherly duty.

    Tanabata – Thanks – thats just the kind of advice I was looking for!

  5. I’d never heard of either of them either, so I looked them up and vote for The Thin Place, too. It sounds much more interesting and I’m curious to read your review! Plum Wine has two things going against it for me: 1) the Asian female friendship subgenre, which has become saturated lately; and 2) the ill/dead woman whose friends all gather around to remember/celebrate her life, another overdone motif.

  6. The Thin Place was my favorite book of last year. Read that.

  7. Well, I wasn’t as enthralled with “The Thin Place” as most, but it was kind of hard to put down, even when I didn’t understand what was going on. How’s that for a ringing endorsement? Oh, and it also didn’t take very long to read, which I always appreciate in literary fiction (since a lot of it seems to think there’s some sort of prize for LONGEST literary novel…just like the makers of Pirates of the Caribbean 3 thought making it three hours long would do the trick).

  8. I heard good things about Plum wine

  9. Les – I totally agree with you regarding the worn out asian/chick drama storyline. the more I think about it, the more I think…we really need to meet.

    Adam – omg you left a comment on my blog. happy days.

    Nonanon – I am feelin you…why all the epics. short stories/epics – how bout a happy medium.

Leave a Reply

