5 Questions Meme

Heather at A High and Hidden Place, sent me these five questions for a 5 question Meme 

1.  How do you balance life, 2 young boys, and reading?

Honestly, I don’t know that I do balance it. In addition to the kids, I work full time and have a 2 hour commute.  Truth be told, I’m not a very organized person so I just sort tackle each day as it comes.  As far as the reading, I just do it.  I always have a least one book on my person at all times.  I read whenever I can, soccer practice, on the elliptical trainer (although that tends to make me nauseous and can also be dangerous), the other day I read half a book while sitting in bumper to bumper traffic.  I’m very impatient and I hate to be bored, thats one reason I love reading, you can never be bored if you have a good book to read.

2.  What book has been most influential in your life?

Well, there have been a few.  As a young adult, I loved everything by Judy Blume and Beverly Cleary and I think they were influential in the way in which I saw myself as a social being, and how I learned to navigate my way through the social hell that young adults have to deal with.  I think I was more prepared because of those books, I knew what was coming while so many others were caught blind-sided.

In my twenties, I read a book called Written on the Body, by Jeannette Winterson.  It is a beautiful poetic story about a passionate love affair, in which the gender of the narrator is never revealed.  The point being, does it really matter?  Cannot people fall in love in all different sorts of ways?  Is it any less important or more real if it is a heterosexual relationship versus a homosexual one?  No.  I don’t think so, and this book really validated that for me.  It made me realize that my open-mindedness wasn’t just a farce, that I actually believed the things I claimed to. 

3.  Do you have a favorite place to read? This one’s easy, the bath-tub.  I love reading in the bath-tub.  Although this is not always a successful endeavor because my three year always wants to join the party which usually results in me hurling the book across the room so that it doesn’t get soaked by an incoming wave.  Oh well, I try anyway.

4.  What’s your earliest memory?

Hmm..I have memories from when I was around three.  I remember bits and pieces of a trip to Disneyworld.  I remember riding Dumbo with my mom.

5.  Do you wish you’d have lived in another time period? What period would that be, and why?

I’m sticking with this time period, I like modern plumbing and my TIVO.

Thanks Heather for the questions!!  It was fun!

3 Responses to “5 Questions Meme”

  1. Glad you liked it! And great answers! I was especially interested in #1 with a 3 year old and another one on the way. I have to learn to go with the flow a bit, it sounds like! It took me about a year to figure out how to juggle it all after my daughter was born. I don’t know what to do when my son gets here! Eek!

    And I am so totally with you on the modern plumbing!

  2. I’m coveting Purple Hibiscus as well. 🙂 I was shocked by how young Adichie looked in the author photo-to have so much talent so early in life! That is funny that you loved the Professor….I stopped liking him when he tried to blame his philandering on his mother! At least Richard owned up to it.

    I think I’m also hesitant about the professor, because he reminds me of a professor I have for class right now (who’s from Cote d’Ivoire)-very confident in his views and willing to run roughshod over everyone who disagrees. While my prof and I get along, he’s made several of the freshmen burst into tears. I don’t think that’s very nice, lol.

    As far as the meme (I think this is the longest post ever), I admire you even trying to balance things! I have a one-year-old niece who I live with during college breaks and trying to read and watch her is almost always futile. She’s worth it though. 🙂

  3. I agree on the tub. Not sure if it’s my favorite place, but it’s quiet and relaxing. I’ve even thought of getting those little bath pillows, but I’m sure they’d end up more annoying than anything else.

Leave a Reply

