A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly

A Northern Light Cover

Publisher Comments:

Mattie Gokey has a word for everything. She collects words, stores them up as a way of fending off the hard truths of her life, the truths that she can’t write down in stories. The fresh pain of her mother’s death. The burden of raising her sisters while her father struggles over his brokeback farm. The mad welter of feelings Mattie has for handsome but dull Royal Loomis, who says he wants to marry her. And the secret dreams that keep her going — visions of finishing high school, going to college in New York City, becoming a writer. Yet when the drowned body of a young woman turns up at the hotel where Mattie works, all her words are useless. But in the dead woman’s letters, Mattie again finds her voice, and a determination to live her own life.

Yes, its me, I’m back with a book review and all.   Glory be.

This was my first Jennifer Donnelly book.  I have seen her name mentioned on several book blogs and I was curious to find out if I would enjoy her as much as others had.  I did.  I became mesmerized by the voice of Mattie Gokey only a few pages in.  A young woman, right on the verge of her life, restlessly struggling with whether to create her own destiny or accept the one she has.  All of the characters in the story were so well drawn, they felt three dimensional to me.  The writing was crystal clear and seemed familiar in a way I can’t quite place.  I enjoyed the book very much and I find it amusing that so many books I have read lately involve characters who are writers or book lovers.   I’m keeping this short because I’m feeling very rusty right now.  I liked the book, I recommend it, and I am eager to read more by Jennifer Donnelly 

Click here to read a full review and synopsis of A Northern Light.

10 Responses to “A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly”

  1. Oh I looooove Jennifer Donnelly. You should check out her Rose trilogy (only book 1 is available here though, pout!) The first is The Tea Rose. Lovely historical fiction. Every bit as good as A Northern Light.

  2. Thanks Heather. I def plan to read The Tea Rose.

  3. Mattie is such a great character – definitely one of my all-time favorite females in a YA book. I bought a copy for my teenage niece and she loved it, too. Ooh, I just checked and our library system has The Tea Rose – and a copy is in at PTC! 😉

    By the way, have you read Libba Bray’s novels? More great YA lit featuring female characters.

  4. And after you have read The Tea Rose, you should definitely get the second book in the trilogy The Winter Rose. You might need to get it from the UK but The Book Depository has free shipping to the US so it won’t hurt quite as much as it would if you had to pay postage! Whilst The Tea Rose is good…..the Winter Rose is GREAT!

    Oh, and Libba Bray’s books are good too!

  5. ^^^Thanks guys, Finding new writers is so fun. I can’t wait to read her other books.

  6. I really enjoyed this book, too, and even bought a copy–originally read it as a library book. I have read one of her novels that is for adults–Tea Rose, which was good (but different) and have Winter Rose to read (a sequel to Tea Rose).

  7. Michelle Says:

    So glad to see you back Sheri! I’ll have to put this one on my list.

  8. Danielle – I’m looking forward to Tea Rose

    Michelle – Hola chica!

  9. i love the book A Northern Light
    i have to read it for school and its not boring
    shes one of my favorite writers

  10. Thanks Angela for stopping by, it is a terrific book! Keep reading!

Leave a Reply

