Back in Business. Finished The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. Finally.

 

 Full size image

I actually finished The Remains of the Day on Sunday, and I thought it was a quietly beautiful book that will always have a special spot on my bookshelf.  I don’t want to spend to much time analyzing it and I won’t dare review it, I just don’t have the skill it would take to do it justice.  But I do have a couple of thoughts on the matter…

 – I have never finished a book and had such a strong desire to see the film.  I guess knowing that the film was well done and a true adaptation of the book helps in piquing my curiosity.  One thing though, I thought for some reason that it was Jeremy Irons that played Mr. Stevens in the movie and it turns out it was Anthony Hopkins.  That might take my brain a while to get used to since Jeremy Irons had been playing the part so well in my head…

 – The scene near the end of the book (POSSIBLE SPOILERS) when Mr. Stevens and Mrs. Kenton where sitting in the car while it was pouring down outside, was one of the most vivid, sad, and strangely beautiful things I had ever read.  I will never forget it.

Sorry for the lapse in blogging.  What can I say, I have spring fever and have not felt like reading.  I think I’m back in the saddle again though, so look out.

5 Responses to “Back in Business. Finished The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. Finally.”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I was starting to worry about you…
    So it was well worth the time and effort? I’m finally reading New Moon right now and I’m sure will be finished in a day or so, if my tired, pregnant self can stay awake to read tonight! So I need something to tackle for the holiday weekend.

  2. Oh you MUST see the film. I’ve seen it several times and it never fails to have an emotional impact. I’m yet to read the book, though I did pick up a second-hand copy on the weekend.

  3. I’m so glad that you’re back 🙂 😉

    I read Never Let Me Go, which I grew to love, and then ran out to buy The Remains of The Day, which has been sitting in my TBR pile. I should bump it up now since you liked it so much. His writing is unique, for lack of better words. It’s different than anything I’ve read and yet enjoyed it immensely. He kind of makes you stop and listen, rather than speed through.

  4. Ishiguro has to be one of my favorite contemporary authors.

  5. Not that I’m totally impressed, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I found a link on SU telling that the info is awesome. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

