Library Loot

I don’t really have too much to say, but I am tired of looking at Harry Potter’s dimpled and clenched buttocks everytime I open my blog, so I need to post something.  How’s this, my library loot for this week is:

The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins

Snow Country – Yansunari Kawabata

Cold Mountain – Charles Frazier – I’ve never read this….should I???

The House on Haunted Hill – Shirley Jackson

The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro

Miss Garnet’s Angel – Sally Vickers

As Simple As Snow – Gregory Callaway

The Kite Runner – Khaled Hoseini

Links to be added later…

12 Responses to “Library Loot”

  1. I hope you like The Woman in White–it is one of my favorites. I liked the Frazier book personally, but it is another that got lots of hype and thus lots of mixed reviews.

  2. I just mooched Woman in White.

    And Miss Garnet’s Angel is absolutely delightful. I hope you enjoy it!

  3. Danielle – I have been wanting to read The Woman in White for a long time. I hope I enjoy it as much as you did.

    Kimbofo – I have been waiting FOREVER for my library hold for Miss Garnet’s ANgel to come in! Can’t wait to get started.

  4. I’ve never read Remains! I look forward to your review!!

  5. It took me awhile to get through Cold Mountain, but I didn’t regret reading it if that helps any. By the way, I read Twilight over the weekend to finally see what all the Sheri hype was about. I thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly since I was trapped in the car on the way to my in laws house!

  6. Michelle – Glad you liked it. It’s def a page turner. My blog gets so many hits from Twilight fans…its pretty amazing how many people are into it.

  7. I love, love, love the Remains of the Day. On the other hand, I almost tossed Cold Mountain across the room. Didn’t like that one. Have fun with the library loot.

  8. I never read Cold Mountain but I saw the movie and that was enough for me (not that I didn’t like it, but it wasn’t one of those that makes me want to spend more time with the characters).

    I’ve got Twilight on request from the PTC library – hoping it arrives soon or I might give into temptation and just go buy it!

  9. Illiana – I am still undecided about Cold Mountain. Thanks for your input.

    Lesley – I hope Twilight comes in SOON!!!

  10. I loved The Woman in White when I was about 16; a recent re-read confirmed its place on my list of favorites. Cold Mountain was a slow read, but I enjoyed it very much. Kite Runner is also excellent!

    Here’s to gumbo and red beans and rice! Thanks for visiting.

  11. The Remains of the Day is one of my all-time favorites. I couldn’t get through Cold Mountain but I keep thinking I’ll get it a try. Great haul!

  12. Brandon Says:

    “The Remains of the Day” was the best book I read last year. That book left me speechless. It’ll stay with me for the rest of my life. I envy anyone reading it for the first time.

Leave a Reply

