Whats a family trip without lesbian victorian fiction?!

A Novel Cover

This past weekend we took a little family trip to Jacksonville, Florida for a soccer tourney (my hubbys a coach), and even though I had a stack of books a mile high on my nightstand, I hit the library to look for something to read on the trip.  I found this book truly on a whim.  I recognized the authors name from seeing on some blogs but I had no idea what I was getting myself into.  Little did I know I was about to enter the world of Lesbian Victorian fiction.  I love surprises.

This book was a total treat, I thought it was fantastic.  I read all 526 pages of it in two days, without ignoring the family.  Victorian Gothic ripe with thieves, lunatics, sex, and mind blowing plot twists, it was everything I was hoping The Thirteenth Tale would have been but was not.

From Library Journal
In Victorian London, the orphaned Sue Trinder is raised by Mrs. Sucksby, den mother to a family of thieves, or “fingersmiths.” To repay Mrs. Sucksby’s kindness, Sue gets involved in a scam but soon regrets it.

Amazon.com
Fingersmith is the third slice of engrossing lesbian Victoriana from Sarah Waters. Although lighter and more melodramatic in tone than its predecessor,
Affinity, this hypnotic suspense novel is awash with all manner of gloomy Dickensian leitmotifs: pickpockets, orphans, grim prisons, lunatic asylums, “laughing villains,” and, of course, “stolen fortunes and girls made out to be mad.” Divided into three parts, the tale is narrated by two orphaned girls whose lives are inextricably linked. Waters’s penchant for byzantine plotting can get a bit exhausting, but even at its densest moments–and remember, this is smoggy London circa 1862–it remains mesmerizing. A damning critique of Victorian moral and sexual hypocrisy, a gripping melodrama, and a love story to boot, this book ingeniously reworks some truly classic themes. –Travis Elborough, Amazon.co.uk —

So, for all of you out there who were disappointed with The Thirteenth Tale, try this, it may satisfy the need for victorian historical fiction where TTT failed.  As far as the lesbian stuff…it don’t bother me none, but if you’re squeamish about it, this may not be the book for you.

10 Responses to “Whats a family trip without lesbian victorian fiction?!”

  1. This is on my mental TBR list. I loved The Night Watch and have one other by Waters (can’t remember which one!) in my stacks.

  2. haha, I know all about the surprise. I read The Night Watch because I heard good things, but the lesbian aspect surprised me. I still really liked the book, though, and I own this one as well. I plan to read it this year. Then, I want to look for more books by her. I would likely have more if I ever saw her second hand.

  3. Your post title made me choke on my coffee! Too funny! I read this book about this time last year and loved it, too. In fact, I think it’s my favorite of hers, although I haven’t read Night Watch yet.

  4. Les – I will def add The Night Watch to my TBR!

    Kailiana – Yes, it was a surprise, but the book was fantastic and I plan to read more by Waters.

    Lesley – I know! The post title kinda came to me as I was riding in the car with the fam and reading a very sexual part of the book. I was thinking, if they only knew what mommy was reading right now….

  5. I’ve read Affinity and Tipping the Velvet by Waters and both have been great although I have a slight preferance for Affinity as it deals with mediums and that kind of victorian drama 🙂

  6. Illiana – Ooooo….I love the supernatural, def have to read Affintity.

  7. Talk about diversity!

  8. LOL…Ha Ha Maggie, I should have seen that one coming.

  9. I have LONG been saying I am going to read this. It keeps reaching the top of the TBR pile only to be moved back down again. I really, really have to read it!

  10. Danielle – You should. It’s a great read.

Leave a Reply

