Poetry Drop by Adrienne Rich

water_drop.jpg

This poem is dedicated to Les in Nebraska, who is cold. 

This high summer we love will pour its light
the fields grown rich and ragged in one strong moment
then before we’re ready will crash into autumn
with a violence we can’t accept
a bounty we can’t forgive
Night frost will strike when the noons are warm
the pumpkins wildly growing the green tomatoes
straining huge on the vines
queen anne and blackeyed susan will straggle rusty
as the milkweed stakes her claim
she who will stand at last dark sticks barely rising
up through the snow her testament of continuation
we’ll dream of a longer summer
but this is the one we have:
I lay my sunburnt hand
on your table: this is the time we have

5 Responses to “Poetry Drop by Adrienne Rich”

  1. My review of Remains of the Day is up! You should really read it!

  2. Eva – I read your review and I am excited to read the book. Thanks.

  3. Sheri – This is so cool! Thank you for finding such a great poem to dedicate to ME! We’re getting a bit of a break from the cold and snow, but will be under a winter storm advisory tomorrow. Supposed to get quite a bit of snow.

  4. Sheri – I really liked this poem. I read in one of your posts that you used to really be into poetry. Do you have any recommendations for poetry books that I can buy? I’m a newbie (I write my own but never invested in reading others), so I really don’t know where to start. I actually liked the style of this poem in particular 🙂

  5. Les – Your welcome! Yikes, good luck with the snow.

    Amelia – I really liked this one too. She has such an interesting voice, both soft and hard at the same time. I’m just getting back in the loop, but I will probably try Alice Oswald next, and then maybe Anne Sexton. My favs are Sharon Olds, Leonard Cohen and Slyvia Plath (of course). I want to read more Adrienne Rich, I really liked her stuff. I also read Jeanette Winterson’s website on a regular basis, and she has awhole page devoted to poetry, you should take a look it might give you some ideas. http://www.jeanettewinterson.com/poem.asp

    Also, I don’t know if you’ve ever read any of Winterson’s fiction, but her novel Written on the Body reads like a lovely poem, It’s amazing. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

