BOOKIE’S 2006 BOOK AWARDS

 

and the winners and losers are……drumroll

BEST (in no particular order)

The Myth of You and Me: A Novel by Leah Stewart

Kaftka on the Shore  by Haruki Murakami – Very strange but good.

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan – Lisa See

The Keep by Jennifer Egan

Twilight – Stephenie MeyerAddictive.

Love and Other Impossible Pursuitsby Ayelet Waldman

The Book Thief – by Markus Zusak

Crow Lake – Mary Lawson

WORST

Towelhead by Alicia Erian – UGH!  Really sick and disgusting.  Keep this book away from your tweenage daughters.

Maybe A Miracle by Brian Struase – Silly, Silly, Silly, little book.

The Nanny Diaries by Emma Mclaughhlin – This book made me want to kill someone.  Seriously.  I can’t believe they are making it into a movie.  Imagine the anarchy that will follow.

BEST BOOK about A DEAD ROCK STAR

Heavier Than Heaven: A Biography of Kurt Cobain by Charles Cross – I liked this book because it wasn’t the usual praise the dead rock God type story.  It was a very honest and truly sad look at Cobain’s life before he died.

BEST BOOK about BEING HACKED UP AND ALMOST KILLED BY A CRAZY DUDE

Strange Piece of Paradise by Terri Jentz– This wins a few categories, best nonfiction, best true crime, scariest, and number one in the “real life is way more fucked up than fiction” category.

BEST BOOK about a RAT

Firmin: Adventures of a Metropolitan Lowlife by Sam Savage –  Good, strange read.  The rat is remarkably human which makes him both lovable and detestable.

BEST BOOK that more than slightly RESEMBLES A ROMANCE NOVEL

Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Predjudice Continues by Linda Berdoll – it was like Jane Austen with lots of gratuitous sex.  Yipee.

BEST CHICK LIT – I’m gonna rave a little about these, so bear with me please.

Something Borrowed Cover Something Blue Cover

Something Borrowed tells the story of Rachel, a young attorney living and working in Manhattan. Rachel has always been the consummate good girl—until her thirtieth birthday, when her best friend, Darcy, throws her a party. That night, after too many drinks, Rachel ends up in bed with Darcy’s fiancé. Although she wakes up determined to put the one-night fling behind her, Rachel is horrified to discover that she has genuine feelings for the one guy she should run from. As the September wedding date nears, Rachel knows she has to make a choice. In doing so, she discovers that the lines between right and wrong can be blurry, endings aren’t always neat, and sometimes you have to risk all to win true happiness. Something Borrowed is a phenomenal debut novel that will have you laughing, crying.

Powells

Someone recommended this book to me and they had that crazy little gleam in their eyes that people get when they are really excited about something and they want to share it.  I was mildly interested but nodded as though I really cared while thinking to myself, chic sleeps with best friends fiance, sounds really great….NOT.  Apparently I did not do a very good job of blowing her off because the next day she brings the book to me and shoves it into my hands.   “Thanks”, I say staring skeptically at the pink cover.  I decided I would read the first few pages to see what it was like.  After that I was hooked.  The book is actually very good.  The characters are all so well developed that you can get a real sense of who they are and what they were like in the past.  The writing is smart, and current, and funny.  The most surprising thing is that you find your self rooting for the person you think your gonna hate.  For me, these books had the same addictive qualities as Twilight and New Moon.  So if you are in the mood for something thats light and fun but not trite or silly, give these books a try.

MOST DISAPPOINTING AKA  The “Don’t believe the hype” AWARD

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield

 Thats all folks!  Thanks for coming!  See ya next year!

10 Responses to “BOOKIE’S 2006 BOOK AWARDS”

  1. Interesting list — Firmin sounds really interesting.
    Firmin was a really orginal read, you should give it a try.

  2. Yikes sorry to here about The Historian and Thirteenth Tale…guess I don’t have to rush to read THOSE. Some TBRs here. Firmin is on my Amazon wish list (as will be the Jentz book as soon as I sign off here.)

    Thank you, Bookie!
    Your welcome. Lots of people loved TTT and the Historian, its all a matter of opinion. I really enjoyed Strange Piece of Paradise.

  3. I admit to liking both The Historian and The Thirteenth Tale despite the hype. No accounting for taste! hehe I like the sounds of Mr. Darcy Taking His Wife! giggle
    Lots of people liked them, and I did too…just not that much.

  4. OK, I just heard from my girlfriend that I just HAVE TO read The Myth Between You and Me. I will definitely go pick it up now.
    In the meantime, I just made some time for reading today (one of my resolutions – more reading time) and jumped right into Twilight. I. cannot. put. it. down! I will write about it on my book blog once our discussion is over!
    Steph – I know! Twilight is unputdownable! I think you should check out the chick lit I mentioned. You might like it!

  5. LOL, I would have put The Book Thief under that last category!
    That is funny! Everybody likes different things, thank God!

  6. I cant seem to get into reding lately. Maybe now that the holidays are over (though Mardi Gras season is just as crazy) I can relax a little. I may go get Twilight. I cant see myself liking a vampire story but you never steer me wrong Sherri.

  7. I of course completely disagree with The Thirteenth Tale….missed out on being my favorite of the year only because I read To Kill a Mockingbird for the first time. I think it is one of those books that should be read if the idea appeals to you because it has such mixed reviews.

    I’m looking forward to The Book Thief once I can get to it.

  8. Jeanine – I predict you will love Twilight and it will trigger a reading binge!

  9. Carl – I think my opinion of TTT is def in the minority 😉

    I agree that people should read whatever they want to regardless of mixed or bad reviews.!

  10. I just finished “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan” and loved it. If you enjoyed it, try reading “Wild Swans,” if you haven’t read it already. Also, there is a film about Nu Shu that we will be showing at our library. I don’t know how many other libraries might have it. I also found a short online documentary on Nu Shu.

    Elaine

Leave a Reply

