2007 TBR Challenge

 

 MizBooks over at Literary Cache has put together a To Be read challenge for 2007.  Here are the rules straight from Mizbooks:

** Pick 12 books – one for each month of 2007 – that you’ve been wanting to read (have been on your “To Be Read” list) for 6 months or longer, but haven’t gotten around to.

** Then, starting January 1, 2007, read one of these books from your list each month, ending December 31, 2007. :o)

While I am learning at a rapid rate that I am not exactly challenge material, I think this is a reasonable task, and I really DO want to get to these books:

Tommorrow They Will Kiss – Eduardo Santiago

Purple Hibiscus – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

A Little Love Story – Roland Merullo

Challenger Park – Stephen Harrigan – This one has dangerously mixed reviews but I still want to read it.

Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte – No, I haven’t read it.  I know, I know,……shut-up.

The Tender Bar – J.R. Moeringer – Forever on my TBR!

Miss Garnets Angel – Sally Vickers – Thanks to rave reviews at Reading Matters.

The Sea – John Banville – Mixed reviews again but I need to see for myself.

Swanns Way – Marcel Proust – Why do I feel a  bit trendy about this one?

Late Wife: Poems – Claudia Emerson 

Which Brings me to you – Steve Almond

Snow – Orhan Pamuk

Tainted Blood- Arnaldur Indrioason – I’ve really been wanting to read something set in Iceland.

Also – I intend to read a few books by Margaret Atwood, and alot of Adrianne Rich poetry.  I also would like to reread Written on the body by Jeanette Winterson and visit her blog daily because I love her and she rocks! 

OK, thats my story and I’m sticking to it…..or I intend to, and I just may…..possibly?

6 Responses to “2007 TBR Challenge”

  1. Yay for Proust and Pamuk! Nice list and good luck with the challenge.
    Thanks! I am excited about reading Swann’s Way and Snow.

  2. Oh, I also have Challenger Park and A Little Love Story on my TBR list, but not on my TBR challenge list. I too was compelled by the reviews of Challenger Park, although not all of them were good! I can’t wait to read what you have to say. I didn’t even finish Snow, I just couldn’t stand it! I’ll also be interested in what you have to say about that one!! Looks like I’ll be keeping a close eye on your blog in 2007!
    lisa – Hopefully, Challenger Park will be a good read. It’s certainly an interesting topic and setting. I’ve heard nothing but good things about A Little Love Story but we’ll see.
    Thanks for checking in!

  3. Hmm, I might take part in this challenge – my only dilemma would be in putting off a book until the appropriate month. I’m the type that would see that as a temptation to read it sooner.

    And I won’t even comment on Jane Eyre. 😉
    ^thanks 😉

  4. Go for Proust and Bronte, by all means. I have got my own “reading methods” I intend to try this year (to avoid the whole spinning-out-of-control feeling I had last year), which I haven’t gotten to yet.

    Happy New Year!
    ^ You too!

  5. I read “Snow” about a month ago. It’s a great book. One of the best I read in 2006.
    I can’t wait! So many people have suggested it!

  6. I think I am going to watch from the sidelines on this challenge–I love your list, though. I am curious about the Vickers book, too. I want to read something by Pamuk this year as well!
    I’ll let you know how Miss Garnet’s Angel turns out.

Leave a Reply

