Christmas Meme

Santa 

Nobody tagged me for this but I’m doing it anyway.  Call the blog police if you must…

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?

Egg Nog – Spiked

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just set them under the tree?
He wraps them of course!  Unwrapping is half the fun, even if it is a big pain in the ass.

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?  Uh…Invisible lights.

4. Do you hang mistletoe? Absolutly not.  There is too much room for disaster when you combine it with family members and booze.

5. When do you put your decorations up?  This year a few days prior to Thanksgiving.  This will vary from year to year as I am inconsistent.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish?  Pumpkin Pie, turkey and stuffing.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child:  Just waking up on Christmas morning and seeing all the loot under the tree.  I love to watch my kids do this as well.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?  I think I was like in 5th grade….I was in extreme denial about learning the truth as well. 

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?  Yes, see #16.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas Tree?  Lots of white lights and lovely ornaments that have been collected with care and love over the last 8 years.

11. Snow! Love it or Dread it?  Well, since I grew up in the swamps of Louisiana and now live in Georgia, I guess I love it, since I rarely see it and don’t have to live with it.

12. Can you ice skate?  Strangly enough, I can.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?  As a child it was the Cabbage Patch Kid doll I thought I would never get since they were harder to find than a new kidney.

14. What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you?  That my children are happy and enjoy it as much as I did as a child.  That everyone gets along and enjoys each others company.

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert?  Pumpkin Pie.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?  This is from my husbands family who we spend Christmas with every year.  On Christmas Eve we all get one present, which happens to be pajamas.  I’m 33 years old and I love love getting my Christmas PJ’s.

17. What tops your tree? Nothing.

18. Which do you prefer: giving or receiving?
Giving.

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song?  The Bare Naked Ladies Version of “God rest ye Merry Gentlemen”  is my latest favorite.  I also love, O Holy Night, and Three Ships.

20. Candy Canes! Yuck or Yum? Yuckola!

Wait….you didn’t ask about my least favorite Christmas tradition!  Standing in line for 5 hours just to sit on some pervs lap and smile for a tacky photo.  See below for examples.

Santa

Santa

and what the hell is going on with this guy ^ he looks like a fucking troll.

 

Scared of Santa

6 Responses to “Christmas Meme”

  1. Love the terrified children on Santa’s lap!!! Hilarious!
    I like that Bare Naked Ladies/Sarah McLachlan song too.
    For the first 10 or so years of my life my godparents would get me pajama’s every Christmas. Looking back I really enjoyed that. My godfather (that is an odd term) Art died this past Nov. 21st on my birthday and eventhough we were no longer close those memories made me really sad. Now I get my wife PJ’s every Christmas and she usually changes into them before we open the rest of the presents.
    Carl – I think the PJ’s are the one thing that makes me feel like a kid again at Christmas. I’m diligent about this too. One year everyone was very tipsy and it looked liked they would forget, well, not on my watch, I made sure everyone got their PJ’s. Glad you do the “PJ’s” thing to.

    Sorry about your “Godfather”, that term is very prevelent in South Lousiana where I grew up. Both of my Godparents have passed on.

  2. Oh this was great. Thank you for sharing some of your Christmas memories. Those pics are too funny 🙂
    Thanks!

  3. I love the pictures. I still have all the pictures of me and Nicole sitting on Santas lap scared to death!!!! A Christmas torture tradition that continues on.
    I hope everyone has a very Merry Christmas.

    O My God! I would love to see those pictures!

  4. Wonderful! This gave me a much-needed chuckle on a Monday morning.
    Glad to be of service LK!

  5. Mmm. I love eggnog with spiced rum. Yummy!

    And hey, I didn’t realize you were in Georgia! What part?
    Live in Peachtree City, work in Buckhead. Commuter city baby. See why I need audiobooks? What about you?

  6. Ha! I’m living in Tyrone – wanna meet up for coffee and a book chat sometime?
    Sure, after the holiday craziness is over!

Leave a Reply

