Make Me Laugh……please

I love to laugh. If I had to describe my sense of humor I would say that I’m like a hybrid version of Jeanine Garafalo and Ellen Degeneres.  I like to dance, but I’m also very sarcastic.  I also like to dress like a man.  Just kidding.  See, I’m hilarious.  But enough about me, this is after all, a BOOK BLOG!  What does this have to do with books?!  I NEED YOUR HELP!  I need to feed my hunger for humor.  Lately, I have found a few blogs that satisfy my addiction for the funny.  The gals over at Go Fug Yourself ALWAYS crack me up with their scathing reviews of celebrity fashion and their Britney and K-Fed “letters” are nothing short of genius.  I also found a blog just recently called Suburban Turmoil which is a funny “mommy” type blog whose recent post Save Me from The Plastic People gave me hope that I’m not the only mom out there who feels like a martian stuck on the strange planet known as parenthood.  Call it bad parenting if you must, but I just know that if the Wiggles ever so much as flicker on my TV screen, Kurt Cobain himself will rise from the grave long enough to kick me in the face with a filthy blood encrusted converse sneaker.  But, I digress….

There are a few other humerous blogs that I enjoy on a daily basis, namely Literary Gas, Gawker(satisfies my inner New Yorker struggling to break free), Mother Reader (please read her post I’m thankful for the stat counter, please!), and The Daily Nooz that make me  laugh, but I need more!  I am also in need of something funny to read.  The last book I read that I remember making me laugh out loud was Running With Scissors…and that was so long ago. 

So, fair readers, I need your recommendations for funny books, websites, blogs, whatever.  My sense of humor has no boundaries or limits so there is no way anything will offend me.  C’mon, help me out will ya?!

13 Responses to “Make Me Laugh……please”

  1. Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris. Perfect for ringing in the holiday season. But any of his books would do.
    I like Defamer. Awfulplasticsurgery.com is really low-rent, but sometimes, we all just need to laugh at wealthy celebrities who purposely mangle themselves in the name of Vanity.
    And The Onion, of course!

    LK – Thanks for the tips. Holidays on Ice sounds perfect. I can’t wait to check out those sites. Awfulplasticsurgery sounds hilarious.

  2. I like to read Tiny Cat Pants (http://tinycatpants.squarespace.com/journal/) — she’s often hilarious. Sometimes she’s serious too, and I like her both serious and funny.

    Thank you! This was exactly what I was looking for.

  3. Gwen’s Super Happy Funtime Blog (http://gwennieutah.blogspot.com/), the ongoing adventures of a sociologist held captive in rural Utah, is pretty darn hilarious. Weird stuff happens to that woman.
    Ooh and I see you just wrote about The Dressmaker. I’m going to go see what you said about it, since I’ve had it checked out from the library for about two months now, and should probably figure out whether I’m going to read it or not.

    I’m predicting you will never read The dressmaker….I’m psychic.

  4. I understand Christopher Moore’s books are a laugh a minute.

    Thanks..I’ll check it out.

  5. I second the David Sedaris recommendation – my favorite of his is ‘Me Talk Pretty One Day’ but they are all great.
    If you like your humor irreverent, then try ‘Good Omens’ by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. You’ll never listen to a Queen song in quite the same way.
    If you like British humor, there’s Sue Townsend. Her Adrian Mole series is a perennial favorite of mine.
    And you definitely can’t go wrong with Jerome K. Jerome’s ‘Three Men in a Boat’ especially if you can get it on audiobook.

    Gracias me amiga!

  6. Check out Eva Las Vegas here http://kkfast.blogspot.com/ She cracks me up every time!
    Thanks!
    THANKS!

  7. I love Carl Hiaasen when I am in need of a chuckle. Especially “Skinny Dip”. Hilarious.
    Adding Skinny dip to my list. Thanks!

  8. I don’t visit there much anymore but I always found Dooce funny:
    http://www.dooce.com/
    Also, for cute baby pics and shared pain there is Secret Agent Josephine:
    http://www.secret-agent-josephine.com/blog/
    Humorous books, eh? I laugh out loud when I read P.G. Wodehouse books but you have to have a thing for British humor to enjoy them. I also really like Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett’s book Good Omens but it is sacriligious. It doesn’t bother me and I take it all in good fun but don’t always recommend it. I find Daniel Pinkwater’s young adult books funny.
    You Tube generally has some funny stuff up though there is alot of crap to wade through.
    Carl – Thanks for your suggestions. You are right about Youtube…but I tend to get SUCKED in for hours if I let myself.

  9. http://crummychurchsigns.blogspot.com/
    or the website: http://www.crummychurchsigns.com/
    The name is self-explanitory… and some are very funny.
    That is very funny. Thanks!

  10. Well, thanks for including me among the funny people. My mother would be so proud.
    As for your question, check out the parenting blogs on my blogroll (there are only a few) as I’ve tried to find the ones that put some humor into the posts. I also like http://www.defectiveyeti.com as he usually has a great take on things political, parental, and… some other “al.”
    As for books, I am working on putting these on my MotherReader Suggests section, but here, just for you, are my favorite funny books.
    Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About, by Mil Millington (the funniest novel ever)
    Sex Lives of Cannibals, by someone (travel story)
    Good in Bed, by Jennifer Weiner (2nd book is okay, 3rd book blows)
    Why Not Me? by Al Franken (writing about a fake presidential run)
    I’m With Stupid, by Gene Weingarten and Gina aldskjfsakj (gender wars made funny)
    America, the Book, by Jon Stewart (duh)
    Idiot Girls Action- Adventure Club, by Laurie Notaro (funny essays)
    Wow! Thanks for all the great suggestions. I can’t wait to dig in!

  11. While I strongly agree with the David Sedaris suggestions, I have to give you a personal suggestion that probably only you could appreciate as humorous. Go to your hometown’s newspaper website and check out the blog. It is scary and funny!
    Thats sounds like an excellent suggestion. I’m sure it won’t disapoint!

  12. grizzlybastard Says:

    hi,
    i am from germany, but i know both: ellen and jeanine….so i thought maybe we have the same or at least a similar kind of humor….so:
    if you don`t know him yet….try :
    Douglas Adams!!! (“The hitchhikers guide to universe”, “Dirk Gently” , etc.)
    He is so funny that i read his books( unfortunately he is dead…- what means no new books) again every year….and they are stilll funny

    have fun

    gb

  13. You will free yourself from the bond that does not give you
    the option of choosing other firm. An acquiring bank is the bank
    that holds your credit card merchant account. Not all of the fees
    are necessary, and not all merchant account providers will charge them.

Leave a Reply

