My Favorite Children’s Book

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

Life is delicious in the town of Chewandswallow where it rains soup and juice, snows mashed potatoes, and blows storms of hamburgers–until the weather takes a turn for the worse.

According to Maggie Reads it appears to be children’s Book Week.  I want to celebrate by spotlighting my favorite childhood book, Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs– by Judi and Ron Barrett.   What makes this book so great is the amazingly inventive and humorous illustrations.  I looked on-line for over an HOUR to find some good scanned images from the book but had no luck.  The best I could find was this one

Above is the illustration of when the weather tales a turn for the worse.  Stale bread rolls inland out of the ocean and a giant pancake covers the school.  I love the helicopters trying to remove the pancake, and how everyone is standing in the syrup trying to figure out what to do.  Notice how the emergency workers are carrying forks and knives as their tools.  The book is filled with these great scenes that still make me smile.  My kids love the book too (although, they seem to have “misplaced” their copy).  I buy this for all of my friends kids as well , although, last time my friend Brandy accused me of buying her daughter a “trippy” book, (C’mon Bran, that was a long time ago, it was Lollapalooza ’93, let it go). It’s a great book, if you haven’t purchased this for your child yet, please do!

4 Responses to “My Favorite Children’s Book”

  1. I have this book! It’s pretty good…however, I recommend the sesame street book where Grover is warning you not to turn the page; every page you turn he gets more and more desperate until the shocking end of the book where he is, indeed, the monster at the end of the book!!

    Hey Little Andy ( Andy is my little brother ya’ll). I do not remember the Grover book but it sounds like you do!!!

  2. Sounds like a fun book. My daughter would probably love it (hmm, this gives me a good idea for a Christmas present). Thanks!

    I think it would make a great present! Do it!

  3. Hey, thanks for the shout out! I was strolling through my sitemeter when I found you. Then I lost you, forgot to bookmark, but now I’m back. Yippee!
    If you don’t mind I’m going to add you to my blogroll so I won’t miss a thang!

    Thanks! I will do the same for you.

  4. This is one of my favorite childrens books. My youngest son read it over and over. I am hopign that he developes a love for reading as I have. He is now 10. If any of you have any suggestions for books for a 10 year old boy please let me know.

    I’ll have to get back to you on this one!

Leave a Reply

