My First Reading Challenge

stackbutton1.jpg

New to the book blogging world, I have been noticing all these cool reading challenges going on amongst bloggers.  I came on the scene too late for Carl V.’s RIP October challenge but I plan to do it next year. I’ve been a little gun shy about joining any of the other challenges that I’ve heard about because of the already evergrowing list of TBR books on my nightstand.   As if reading my mind, Overdue Books has issued the perfect challenge.  It’s called From the Stacks, and here is a copy of the info on the challenge posted from Overdue Books: 

If you are anything like me your stack of purchased to-be-read books is teetering over. So for this challenge we would be reading 5 books that we have already purchased, have been meaning to get to, have been sitting on the nightstand and haven’t read before. No going out and buying new books. No getting sidetracked by the lure of the holiday bookstore displays.

The bonus would be that we would finally get to some of those titles (you know you picked them for a reason!) and we wouldn’t be spending any extra money over the holidays.

The time frame would be Nov. 1st until Jan. 30 and there will be some small, fun prizes awarded to random participants and/or those with clever review posts. There will be one random drawing for a prize to those who submit their list of books in the comment section by Nov. 15th but feel free to join any time. There will be another random drawing for those who submit five reviews by Jan. 30 for a small gift certificate to Amazon.

Doesn’t that sound fun?!  A good way to clear your pile a little to make room for MORE books!  To sign up go to Overdue Books and leave your name and list in the comments section of the “Reading Challenge” post.  My list is:

1.  The Shadow of the Wind

2.  The Book Thief

3.  The Dressmaker

4.  The Birthdays

5.  The Tender Bar

10 Responses to “My First Reading Challenge”

  1. Thanks for joining in!

    You bet! Couldn’t resist!

  2. Oh, I’ve been dying to read The Shadow of the Wind. Read that one first so I can hear your review! 🙂

    I know…I don’t know why I keep dragging my tails on this one. Everyone loves it! The librarian at the school I work, says it’s her favorite book of ALL TIME!? Wow…quite a statement.

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog. I can’t wait to hear abou the Shadow of the Wind. I’ve not heard of it before but I love the title. The book Thief is on my TBR list. I hear it’s wonderful as well. This challenge is great.

    I like your blog! Can I add it to my blogroll? The Book Thief is overdue which means I should get to it first.

  4. Oh I hope you enjoy Shadow of the Wind! It was one of my favorite reads last year. I have the Book Thief on my TBR list. I keep hearing such great things about it.

    I can’t imagine I won’t love these 2 books, everybody seems to like them.

  5. Great idea! I accidentally got started before you issued the challenge. As I often do, I’m currently reading five books simultaneously, all of them from my “shoulda read this one a long time ago” pile.
    A Short History of Nearly Everything
    Angle of Repose
    Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
    The Lovely Bones
    Leaven of Malice
    By the way, I found your site because you’ve made the list of today’s Fastest Growing Blogs on WordPress. Here’s the link to the list:
    http://botd.wordpress.com/growing-blogs/
    You must be doing something right!
    (Follow the link quickly, though. The list is updated every 6 hours.)

    David –
    A. You totally made my day by pointing out I made todays list of fastest growing blogs, thank you!
    B. I’ve been to your blog and I am sooo stealing the way you respond to comments. In fact I am doing it ….right now.
    C. Your list looks good. I’ve read The lovely Bones and really liked it.

  6. I read ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ for the RIP Challenge and really enjoyed it. I’ll be curious to see what you think of it. Oh, and I joined this challenge, too – what reader worth their salt can resist?

    I certainly can’t!

  7. From what I read “The Book Thief” is unputdownable, so you’re in for a treat. I’ve heard great things about “The Tender Bar” as well. Happy reading and good luck! 🙂

    Thanks! I’m really excited about both of those.

  8. I am very close to being persuaded to join this challenge. I just have to find the time to narrow my to-be-read shelf down to just 5.

    There are some people who have more than 5 on their list. I am sticking with 5 with the holidays arounf the corner I’m scared to commit to too many.

  9. I’ve been meaning to read The Shadow of the Wind, too! Someday…
    I loved, loved, loved The Book Thief. Can’t gush enough about that gem. 🙂

    Tonights the night! I’m starting The Book Thief!!!!!

  10. Oh, Shadow of the Wind is wonderful. I really enjoyed that one. And I think you know how I feel about The Book Thief. Haven’t read the others so I’ll be watching to see what you think!

    Just started The Book Thief and so far so good.

Leave a Reply

