Back from Boston

I’m back from Boston.  What a beautiful city!  Sadly, I had very little time to explore.  The conference went from 8am to 5:30  each day and Boston gets dark around 4:30.  I did manage to do a bit of sightseeing yesterday afternoon and I made it to a few bookstores!  Here are some photos:

This was a wonderful childrens book shop with a Curious George Theme.

halloween-037.jpg

This guy was actually selling books on the street for 2 bucks a piece.  Did you think I walked past without buying SOMETHING?…No way, though they were mostly mass market paperbacks, I found a couple of hidden jewels..and I purchased

The Secret History – Donna Tartt

A Thousand Acres – Jane Smiley

halloween-032.jpg

The Harvard Book Store (pictured below) was FANTASTIC!  Their selections of new hardcover and trade paperbacks are so interesting and everything was displayed so well.  The real treasure was downstairs in the used book section.  Everything was in impeccable condition and priced between 6 or 7 bucks.  I was very restrained, but of course I wasn’t leaving empty handed.  I purchased:

City of Masks – Daniel Hecht

Black and Blue – Anna Quindlin

halloween-035.jpg 

I wen to a few more bookshops and hung out in Harvard Square and did some reading.  Then back home to ATL. 

My travel book was The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield which I was reading for Stephanie’s bookclub.  I liked the book.  It was a good read.  I don’t know if it knocked my socks off,  but I enjoyed it enough to recommend it to others.  It’s a book that’s best read on a cold dreary night next to a fireplace with a glass of wine or hot cocoa at your side.  I read most of the book on the plane to and from Boston and was wishing for the coziness of my sofa the whole time.  I’m saving most of my comments on the book for my book club discussion coming up soon so I won’t say anymore except for that it was nice solid read, but I probably could have waited for the paperback.

7 Responses to “Back from Boston”

  1. What fun! I love visiting cool bookstores when I’m traveling. Great pictures!

  2. Thanks for the link to the Curious George bookstore. Next time we are in Boston I will have to take my daughter there. I am really looking forward to our discussion of The Thirteenth Tale. My mother LOVED it, I really enjoyed it and I think my sister didn’t even finish it. Should make for an interesting discussion tomorrow!

  3. Glad you had a good trip. And your purchases reminded me that I need to pick up The Secret History again. That is another one of my folds – I think it was that I had too much else going on at the time to read it.

  4. Hope you enjoy City of Masks. I listened to it on cd-rom last year and t hought it was really good.

  5. Michelle – I have heard that The Secret History is very good. I am a bit scared since I read another book by Tartt called The Little Friend and I hated it.

    Libris – I’m reading City of Masks Now! So far so good.

  6. Hey, Sheri. I got your comment for The Thirteenth Tale and hesitate to post it since it has a fairly significant spoiler. If you don’t mind, can you send another and just delete that one sentence about Vida? Sorry for posting this here, but I couldn’t locate your email address!

  7. I miss being close enough to visit Boston whenever I felt like it! Sounds like you had a grand time, even if the conference took up a significant chunk of time.
    By the way, if you’re interested in locating independent bookstores, might I give a shameless plug to a site my husband and I started? It’s called Bookwormz and besides locating indie bookstores, will allow you to add them, too.

    What a cool site. I love Indie book stores. I would love to have my own one day. – Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

