My Booksense Picks for October

bscom-logo.gif

Booksense.com is one of my favorite resources for finding out about good books. Booksense is comprised of independent bookstore owners and each month they produce a list of their favorite new books.  I wait impatiently for their list each month and then scour it, circling the ones that interest me.   After a little more research at amazon.com, I  decide which ones  to add to my neverending, evergrowing, To Be Read List.   I’m a bit late for October, but I figured I’d go ahead and highlight the books I’ve added to my TBR list from Booksense’s October picks.

abundance.jpg

Abundance By Sena Jeter Nasland
“In this remarkable story of the life of Marie Antoinette, readers will come to know and love a character often misunderstood. You won’t be able to put down this gripping narrative of Louis XVI’s brave, kind, and courageous queen.” –Summer Moser, Summer’s Stories,

Marie Antionette is definitely the historical fiction “du jour.”

 

 

 

sharp-objects.jpg

 

 

Sharp Objects By Gillian Flynn
“Reporter Camille Preaker is sent to her hometown of Wind Gap, Missouri, to cover what might be the connection between a young girl murdered nine months earlier and another young girl recently gone missing. Having fled Wind Gap nearly a decade ago, Camille suddenly finds herself unwillingly reunited with her family and forced to confront tragedies from the past. This exceptional and disturbing thriller is not to be missed.” –Tova Beiser
Brown
University Bookstore,

the-meaning-of-night.jpg

 

 

The Meaning of Night By Micheal Cox
“This dark, clever, and highly literary thriller set in Victorian England features as many plot turns as Dickens at his best. It also features an oddly compelling, delightfully unreliable narrator: Edward Glyver, who, finding evidence that he is the legitimate heir to perhaps the most desirable estate in all of
England, sets out to claim his rightful inheritance. The most refreshing literary thriller I’ve read in years.” –Joe Murphy, Olsson’s
Books & Records, Washington, DC

 

 

4 Responses to “My Booksense Picks for October”

  1. I love Booksense too. I like how they have them all listed on their web site but I still love to pick up my free copy of Booksense at the library.

  2. I haven’t seen a Booksense flyer since I moved from new orleans. That’s how I first learned about them!

  3. I went to a couple of library workshops recently and was able to pick up ARCs of ‘Abundance’ and ‘The Meaning of Night’ – two books I had on my wishlist and so I snatched those copies up right away! Marie Antoinette definitely seems to be the latest HF darling, so I’m sure we’ll be seeing more books dealing with her. Hopefully Naslund’s book (I loved her novel ‘Ahab’s Wife’) is one of the better ones.

  4. Hi – just found my way to your blog via Lesley’s. Very nice. I love Booksense and browse their picks regularly.

    I just finished Sharp Objects the other day. Great writing, but definitely not a book for everyone.

Leave a Reply

