Still Missing by Chevy Stevens

Amazon.com Review

Product Description
On the day she was abducted, Annie O’Sullivan, a 32-year-old realtor, had three goals—sell a house, forget about a recent argument with her mother, and be on time for dinner with her ever-patient boyfriend. The open house is slow, but when her last visitor pulls up in a van as she’s about to leave, Annie thinks it just might be her lucky day after all. Interwoven with the story of the year Annie spent as the captive of a psychopath in a remote mountain cabin, which unfolds through sessions with her psychiatrist, is a second narrative recounting events following her escape—her struggle to piece her shattered life back together and the ongoing police investigation into the identity of her captor.

*************************************************************************************************************************

What I liked:  Well, this was definitely a page turner.  I read this very fast, and stayed up past midnight to finish it which I never do, because sleep is precious people, I mean really.  It has a good build up to a crazy plot twist, and it really delivers on the mystery and suspense level, however I’m not sure I would have passed this off as literary fiction.  Which brings me too…

What I didn’t like:  The dialog in the book is pretty bad, especially the parts in which she is talking to her shrink (whom we never hear one peep from the entire book, she could have been talking to the wall for all we know).  First off, she sounds like some 1950′s police detective…Say Doc, you must think I’m a really screwed up broad eh???  Not a quote but an example, it was almost laughable.  Also, I felt the book teetered on voyeurism at times.  I caught myself wondeing, why do I want to read in such detail about a woman being tortured, beaten, and raped repeatedly?  Am I weird?  I dunno, sometimes it made me feel dirty is all I’m saying.

Recommend?  Sure, it’s a good read that will keep you engrossed, but go into like you might be reading a mass market paperback that someone lent you, don’t expect a Booker Prize winner, but yet still a couple of levels above James Patterson.

 

 

3 Responses to “Still Missing by Chevy Stevens”

  1. totally agree regarding the voyeurism aspect. I thought the book had good suspense and definitely better than a Patterson!

  2. Made you feel dirty…that is funny! I just finished listening to this on audio and it was really well done. This is one messed up book, but it definitely entertained me.

  3. Jeannine Scamardo Says:

    Good read. I couldnt put it down.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

