Happy Birthday To Me, I Live In A Tree…

573703_birthday_candles.jpg

Today I turned 34 years old.  I share my birthday with these literary peeps:

French historian Jules Michelet (1798), American poet X.J. Kennedy (1929), American novelist Robert Stone (1937) Charles Milne (1920)

Quotable notable: It is the general rule, that all superior men inherit the elements of superiority from their mothers.Jules Michelet

Now.  I’m not complaining, but I’ve always been amazed at the lack of bookish gifts I get on my birthday.  It seems like a given right?  Well, you would think, but birthday after birthday and no books, little bitty booklights, book calenders, or  bookstore gift cards (the mother of all bookish gifts).  In fact, now that I’m thinking about it, even for Christmas I get no books.  BIZARRE.  Is no one paying attention?  I guess not.  Oh well. 

Anyway, I really don’t care about presents.  My three year old sang Happy Birthday to me at the breakfast table and the tears that came to my eyes would make Oprah proud.  I just feel really grateful today for all my blessings, my life and my family.  Happy Birthday to Me!

14 Responses to “Happy Birthday To Me, I Live In A Tree…”

  1. Happy Birthday!!!!!
    I hope you have a great one!

  2. Hey, we’re the same age now. Happy Birthday! Have a wonderful, wonderful day!

  3. Thanks Neener and Heather!

  4. Happy birthday!! I say if you don’t receive books and bookish gifts then you need to give yourself your own gift. Go celebrate at the bookstore (and tell us all about it of course -hee)

  5. Happy birthday! Enjoy the day – and go buy yourself some books! :)

  6. I second Iliana’s wish… go get yourself something. Besides, no one ever really knows what to get you. Happy birthday!

  7. Best wishes on your birthday!!

    You are not the only one who never receives books for presents!!

  8. Happy Birthday!

  9. Happy Happy Birthday!

    I’m coming up on your heels. I don’t feel grownup enough to be 34, do you?

  10. THANKS!!!!!!!! To all of you for my birthday wishes. I love you all, you crazy bookish freaks.

  11. I think i am the old lady here. I am going on 40 and I still dont feel like a grown up!

  12. Happy Birthday! And hope you get more bookish presents heading your way soon. If not, I highly suggest dropping some serious hints. Only way….

  13. Happy Birthday!! I never get books either, I think people are afraid to buy books for people they think read too much…afraid to buy the wrong thing? I would start planting the idea of bookstore gift cards… Or, as many smart people here have recommended, go buy yourself some! You’ve earned it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

